'Ned's Project,' 'Sakaling Hindi Makarating' win big in CineFilipino awards

'Ned's Project,' 'Sakaling Hindi Makarating' win big in CineFilipino awards

'Ned's Project,' 'Sakaling Hindi Makarating' win big in CineFilipino awards

MANILA, Philippines - An LGBT drama about a lesbian dreaming of motherhood and a movie about a heartbroken woman's journey across the country bags a total of 14 trophies in the CineFilipino festival awards Saturday at the Kia Theatre in Quezon City.


Helmed by Lemuel Lorca, "Ned's Project" got the top prize as Best Feature Film, taking home PhP 500,000 in the indie film competition. It also won awards for Best Actress (Angeli Bayani, in a tie with Candy Pangilinan for "Star na si Van Damme Stallone"), Best Supporting Actress  (Max Eigenmann), Best Cinematography (Tey Clamor, along with Ice Idanan for "Sakaling Hindi Makarating"), Best Screenplay (John Bedia), and Best Production Design (JP Sapitula).

It depicts the story of lesbian tattoo artist Ned, whose desperation to become a mother through artificial insemination, prompted her to join a reality show and enlist the help of new girl Ashley.


Along the way, their friendship turns to love, and Ned is faced with decisions that will define her future: either as a mother or as a partner.

'Ned's Project,' 'Sakaling Hindi Makarating' win big in CineFilipino awards

Another big winner is Ice Idanan's festival entry "Sakaling Hindi Makarating," a travel drama about a young devastated woman named Cielo who journeys across the Philippines after her fiancé and boyfriend of 11 years broke off their engagement.

Prompted by the numerous postcards from a mystery sender, she begins her road trip and quest for healing by making new memories and friendships along the way.


"Sakaling Hindi Makarating" won prizes for 2nd Best Picture, Best Actor (Pepe Herrera), Best Cinematography (Ice Idanan), Best Sound (Raffy Magsaysay), Best Musical Score (Mon Espia), and Best Editing (Hannah Espia).

CineFilipino Film Festival 2015 features competitions for full-length films, short films (mobile, online content, and short features), and TV series pilots in digital format.


CineFilipino "aims to support and develop new cinematic, audience-friendly works of artistic merit by up-and-coming and established filmmakers to help define the human experience through a Filipino perspective."

Below is the full list of winners:

Best Picture: "Ned’s Project"

2nd Best Picture: "Sakaling Hindi Makarating"

3rd Best Picture: "Star na si Van Damme Stallone"

Best Actress: Angeli Bayani "Ned’s Project," and Candy Pangilinan "Star na si Van Damme Stallone"

Best Actor: Pepe Herrera, "Sakaling Hindi Makarating"

Best Supporting Actress: Max Eigenmann, "Ned’s Project"

Best Supporting Actor: Isaac Aguirre, "Star na si Van Damme Stallone"

Best Screenplay: John Bedia, "Ned’s Project"

Best Cinematography: Ice Idanan "Sakaling Hindi Makarating," and Tey Clamor "Ned’s Project"

Best Production Design: JP Sapitula, "Ned’s Project"

Best Sound: Raffy Magsaysay, "Sakaling Hindi Makarating"

Best Musical Score: Mon Espia, "Sakaling Hindi Makarating"

Best Editing: Hannah Espia, "Sakaling Hindi Makarating"

Best TV Series Pilot: "Junakis"

2nd Best TV Series Pilot: "Midlife"

3rd Best TV Series Pilot: "Agham Inc"

Best Documentary Film: "Sina Dino At Ang Kanilang Sikreto"

Best Short Film: "Kung Ang Ulan ay Gawa sa Tsokolate"

2nd Best Short Film: "Not Applicable"

3rd Best Short Film: "Chikboy"

Best Online Content:

“Dayuhan Sa Perlas” by Raynier Brizuela

“Iba’t Ibang Klase ng Pasahero ng Jeep” by Raymundo Baguilat

“Swerte” by Red Aquino

“Hila Ko Si Noy” by Dexter Paul De Jesus

“How Fast” by Vic Ryan Julius Ong

Best Mobile Video: “Kahon” by Carlos Dala I

Photo accessed from entertainment.inquirer.net

Photo accessed from whatshappening.com.ph

- Kami.com.ph

Source: KAMI.com.gh

Online view pixel