Ateneo’s Alyssa Valdez gets third MVP trophy

Ateneo’s Alyssa Valdez gets third MVP trophy

Crowd favorite and volleyball superstar Alyssa Valdez of the Ateneo Lady Eagles won her third consecutive MVP award in the UAAP Season 78 Women’s Volleyball Tournament.

Valdez, known for her deadly spikes, led the defending champions to another victory, setting a 12-2 elimination round record.

The 5-foot-9 team captain also received her third straight Best Server title and her fourth consecutive Best Scorer award after finishing the season with 243 points.

Valdez shared the MVP trophy with her teammates and thanked volleyball fans all over the Philippines.

"Mapa-blue man, mapa-green, mapa-red, mapa-maroon, alam naming lahat na-appreciate niyo kami as volleyball players and volleyball teams," said Valdez.

The last three-time MVP for UAAP Women’s Volleyball was Far Eastern University’s Monica Aleta, who won the title in the 2000-2002 seasons.

Meanwhile, freshman athlete Isa Molde from the University of the Philippines was named Rookie of the Year and was ranked eighth in the league after scoring 176 points for the Lady Maroons.

Molde played a big role in helping UP return to the Final 4 for the first time in 12 seasons.

Other winners for this season’s tournament were La Salle's Majoy Baron for the Best Blocker award, La Salle libero Dawn Macandili who was named Best Digger and Best Receiver, and La Salle team captain Kim Fajardo who won her second Best Setter award.


Online view pixel