Ateneo’s Valdez cops 3rd MVP Plum in Farewell Season

Ateneo’s Valdez cops 3rd MVP Plum in Farewell Season

Ateneo’s Alyssa Valdez will end her illustrious volleyball career with a bang in the collegiate ranks as she is set to be named the Most Valuable Player, her third MVP accolade in the women’s division in UAAP.

She also took a fourth straight Best Scorer award and a third straight Best Server trophy.

The 5-foot-9 spiker and pride of San Juan, Batangas took the league by storm when she joined Ateneo’s volleyball program and led the team to five consecutive appearances in the finals, gifting the school with two championships that included a Cinderella run against archrival La Salle in Season 76 and a 16-0 sweep in Season 77.

On the other hand, La Salle’s Kim Fajardo and Majoy Baron are the Best Setter and Best Blocker, respectively. Their libero Dawn Macandili grabbed the Best Receiver and Best Digger trophies.

UP’s Isa Molde is named the Rookie of the Year, while NU’s Jaja Santiago is the Best Attacker.

Meanwhile, Ateneo’s Marck Espejo will be awarded the MVP trophy in the men’s division. Just like Valdez, this is Espejo’s third MVP award since joining the Blue Eagles three seasons ago. Espejo also got the Best Spiker and Best Server awards. Teammate Ish Polvorosa is Best Setter.

James Natividad and Ricky Marcos took the Rookie of the Year and Best Digger trophies for NU, respectively. La Salle’s Raymark Woo is the scoring champion, while Edward Camposano from UE is this season’s Best Blocker.

The awarding ceremony will be on Wednesday at the MOA Arena, before the Game 2 of the men's and women's volleyball Finals.


Online view pixel