No one wins in 'Tawag ng Tanghalan' January 9 episode

No one wins in 'Tawag ng Tanghalan' January 9 episode

- It's Showtime's "Tawag ng Tanghalan" made a shock to viewers in their January 9, 2017 episode

- During the competition, all three daily contestants were given a gong

- The defending champion Julia Faith Joaquin automatically got her second win

Avid TV viewers got excited when the ABS-CBN noontime show 'It's Showtime' revived one of the most loved amateur singing competition in Philippine television, "Tawag ng Tanghalan".

The Kapamilya show has already discovered many singers with potential and it continues to do so. However, in the January 9, 2017 episode of the segment, all three contestants Melanie Guevarra, Alyssa Pangan and Dionisio Cabalan Jr. were given a gong by the judges because of singing out of tune.

For the first time, no contestant was hailed as the daily winner which makes defending champion Julia Faith Joaquin automatically the winner, her second win in the competition.

'Tawag ng Tanghalan' judges

READ ALSO: Jaya returns to ABS-CBN as ‘Tawag ng Tanghalan’ judge

Head judge Rey Valera said:

"Tama si Erik Santos sa sinasabi na elemento parang there's something about the environment na nawawalan ka ng energy."

Defending champion Julia Faith will return to the show on Tuesday to compete with the daily winners.

Other judges present during the day's show were Karylle, Mitoy Yonting, Erik Santos, and Louie Ocampo.

January 9 contestants

READ ALSO: Rey Valera uses 'palpak' to criticize Tawag contestants

The original 'Tawag ng Tanghalan' has produced stars namely Novo Bono Jr., Diomedes Maturan and Nora Aunor. The first champion was Jose Gonzales, also known as Pepe Pimentel with the winning piece “Angelitos Negros.”

Other champions in the original singing contest were Maturan, Cenon Lagman, Aunor, Jonathan Potenciano, Bono, Rufina Esperancilla, Conchita Peñalosa and Boy Leonardo.


READ ALSO: Tawag ng Tanghalan semi-finalist inspires fans with emotional performance


Online view pixel