Pimentel garners 18 signatures, secures Senate Presidency

Pimentel garners 18 signatures, secures Senate Presidency

- Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III secures the support of 18 members of the Senate as he settled the Senate leadership issue

- Senator Alan Peter Cayetano has given way for the Senate presidency and also expressed his support for Pimentel

- The 17 Congress will open on July 25 and Senator Franklin Drilon stated that Pimentel will be elected as Senate President during the opening

As 18 out of 24 members of the Senate has expressed their support for Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel, the senator will most likely become the new Senate President when the 17 Congress opens.

Pimentel stated that Senator Alan Peter Cayetano has conceded and that his camp and Cayetano’s belong to one camp and they had already settled the leadership issue.

Pimentel garners 18 signatures, secures Senate Presidency

Sen. Koko Pimentel looks to become Senate President (Photo by Niño Jesus Orbeta)

“Opo, nag-usap na po kami. Sinabi na nga n’ya na we are one camp. Okay na po at kelangan po ‘yung mga perceived na kasama n’ya ay inaayos ko na po ‘yung kanilang role sa majority,” said Pimentel during an interview with DZMM on Friday.

(Yes, we have already talked. He said that we belong in one camp. Everything is okay andi am just arranging the role in the majority of those who are perceived to be with him.)

READ ALSO: LOOK! Duterte’s new economic adviser wants to lease islands to multi-nat’l corps

Pimentel had repeatedly affirmed that Cayetano had already considered the final decision of te majority of the members in the Senate.

“Ang sabi ni Senator Alan, we belong to one camp. Lahat kami supportive and protective of the President so magsama-sama po kami. Hindi pa lang nga s’ya nakapirma (sa resolution) at noong tinanong ko s’ya kung ano ang preferred committee n’ya, sabi n’ya unahin ko daw ‘yung mga kasama n’ya,” Pimentel added while referring to the resolution electing him as the next Senate President.

(Senator Alan said that we belong in one camp. We are all supportive and protective of the President, so we will all cooperate and unite. He has not signed the resolution yet, and when I asked him for his preferred committee, he told me to prioritize his allies.)

READ ALSO: Ex-Senate President Pimentel eyes to raise qualifications of national leaders in proposed federalism

According to Pimentel, the said resolution has already secured the signatures of 28 senators. The latest signatories were Senators Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito, Juan Miguel Zubiri, and Richard Gordon who are all part of Cayetano’s group. Pimentel added that Senator Joel Villanueva has also affixed his signature.

Senator Franklin Drilon also stated, “The Senate will officially convene and officially open the 17th Congress. We will elect Sen. Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III, the only PDP-Laban member in the Senate, as Senate president.”

The five senators who haven’t signed the resolution yet are Senators Cayetano, Cynthia Villar, Ralph Recto, Antonio Trillanes IV, and Francis Escudero. - Kami Media

READ ALSO: Find out what triggered the proposed shift to federalism, according to former senator Pimentel

Related news

Magnitude 5.5 Earthquake Hits Luzon

Magnitude 5.5 Earthquake Hits Luzon

Magnitude 5.5 Earthquake Hits Luzon
Mailfire view pixel