Sotto reveals initial Senate chairmanship list

Sotto reveals initial Senate chairmanship list

TV program host and Senator Vicente “Tito” Sotto III disclosed on Thursday the initial list of Senate committees and their respective expected heads.

The list is as follows:

Senate committee on Justice—Incoming Senator Leila de Lima

Senate committee on Labor—Incoming Senator Joel Villanueva

Senate committee on Local Government—Incoming Senator Sherwin Gatchalian

Senate committee on Defense—Senator Gregorio “Gringo” Honasan II

Senate committee on Public Works—Incoming Senator Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquaio

Senate committee on Public Order—Senator-elect Panfilo Lacson

Senate committee on Tourism—Senator Nancy Binay

Senate committee on Education—Senator Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV

Senate committee on Finance—Senator Loren Legarda

Senate committee on Banks—Senator Franklin Drilon

Senate committee on Ways and Means—Senator Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara

Senate committee on Agriculture—Incoming Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan

Senate committee on Health—Senator Risa Hontiveros

Senate committee on Public Services—Senator Grace Poe

Senator Sotto said that the Senate committee on Energy is to be given to Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero provided that he joins the majority bloc. However, Senator Escudero announced earlier that he will be in the minority bloc.

Sotto reveals initial Senate chairmanship list

Earlier, incumbent Senate President Franklin Drilon announced that major political parties agreed to support Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III as his successor for the chamber’s leadership.

Sotto reveals initial Senate chairmanship list

“I wish to announce that last night major political parties have agreed to have an alliance, principally the LP (Liberal Party) and its allied parties — we have six LP, one Akbayan — with the PDP-Laban, plus the NPC (Nationalist People’s Coalition) and the other allied political groups,” Drilon said.

“Last night, we met and had that agreement that the president of the incoming Senate will be Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III. I will be the Senate Senate President Pro Tempore and (Senator Vicente) Tito Sotto will be the Majority Leader,” he said, adding that sixteen (16) or seventeen (17) Senators are backing up Pimentel.

RELATED: Sotto: Senate presidency seat not a parking slot


Online view pixel